Introductory Notes

by Ray B. May IV ~ 2017.03.22

Well this is a new project I (Ray “RB” May IV) am starting. This is not a separate project from my other projects it is simply an extension of what I already do. This is really going to be own blog, but geared more toward who I am. I’m am not sure if I am going to keep RB-Wan going or not. We shall see in the future. I never really published anything very regularly on it and shifted all of my energies to the two Christian Ministries – Believe Better Ministries and Breath of God Ministries – when I started working on those.

BBM grew slowly from simply my own rambling writings (much like what I am doing right now) to a working active ministry with goals visions and guidelines for what is being done. BOG Ministries was from birth a ministry with a goal. The goal of this ministry has changed over the course of its life, but it still has been guided by the Holy Spirit to what we have felt its end should be. This blog is going to be more like a personal blog, with a little more goal oriented writing.

I want it to follow the guiding of what a warrior monk was in the days of old. I have sometimes felt I am a warrior monk as I have trained the martial arts since I was six years old. The only thing I have done for longer than be a martial artist is believe in God. So, essentially this blog is going to deal with my ramblings on three main topics:

  1. Theology
  2. Martial Arts
  3. Philosophy

With these three topics I will most likely also include some of my writings on other topics (such as literature, my poetry, or pretty much anything I feel I want to put on here). I hope everyone enjoys what I choose to write and post here. I have had a lot of time to think about what I want this site to be as I’ve been considering doing this for a long time.

Now you know what my plans are I wanted to start off with a little about why I am doing this. I feel, sometimes, I am a warrior monk of the 21st Century. I’ve been a believer for almost as long as I can remember. I’ve practicing martial arts since I was a young child (since I was six) and these two things melded together would make a warrior monk… well, at least I choose to see it in this way. I am not an ascetic or have chosen any specific life style which would lend itself to the monastic worldview specifically and I mean no disrespect taking this title, but in many ways my theology and martial arts are wrapped together.

A verse in the Bible has led me down this path and has pushes me to continuously head toward the idea:

“For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.”

— James 2:26 KJV

This is the end of a passage where James has been vehemently explaining actions (works) and faith cannot be separated. This has been a confusing passage for a lot of people. Most have considered it to be putting forth the doctrine we are not saved without our works, and those who believe this passage to be preaching that have always put forth a legalistic doctrine of works. This is not what it is teaching. It is teaching us to active!

We need to be active in our faith. Jesus said we shall know believers by their fruit, just as we know the difference between a pear tree and apple tree but the fruit which grows on it. The works (actions) are the fruit. This verse guides my decisions. I try as often as I can to be active in my beliefs. This is because I am an active person. You can tell by the martial arts I practice. They are a cardio heavy, hard style of martial arts. My main style is Taekwondo, my secondary style is Kendo/Kenjutsu. (The reason I list both Kendo and Kenjutsu is because while technically I train in the traditional art of Japanese Swordsmanship (kenjutsu) there isn’t really a full kenjutsu school in my area (any more) and the art I practice was developed after the Meiji revolution making it a newer martial art in the way the Japanese view their martial arts. So according to tradition it can’t be labeled kenjutsu.)

Both of these martial arts promote heavy amounts of physical training and activity. This has produced in me a need to remain active. I have taken this into my relationship with God as well. When reading my Bible a verse jumped off the page. I was reading the Gospel of Luke.

“Stay dressed for action and keep your lamps burning”

— Luke 12:35 ESV

This verse is Jesus speaking. We are to stay dressed for action! Be ready, not simply for service or simple tasks, but for anything. The Greek literally translates to “gird up your loins”. This is a statement which was used of warriors as they prepared for battle. They strap a sash tightly around their waist then put their armor over top of it. We are to ready for whatever may come!

In meditation on the word and prayer I have come to realize this. We are not called to be pew surfers who simply go to Church on Sunday because that’s what good Christians do. We are called to be active, using our gifts in the service of our brothers and sisters in Christ.

This is where my thoughts are and where this project is heading. I hope I can encourage everyone who reads it to be active in their lives, in their faith, and in everything they do.

I’m going to end in prayer:

Lord Jesus,

Thank You for all You do for us on a regular basis. Thank You for the provision you have put in Your Word for us. I ask as I work on this project for Your leading. Lord, I do not want to be putting words down anywhere which would lead anyone astray from You.

Help me to be the light which shines like a city on a hill. You are the light and I can only reflect You, I ask in my writing I would reflect You and Your grace to everyone.

Lord, finally I pray for everyone who reads any part of this project. I pray You would edify them, lift them up and shine Your light in their lives. Lord, You are the magnificent, most powerful creator of the universe. I glorify You and praise You for the talents You have given me. I ask they would be used appropriately here.

Thank You Lord,
I love You Lord,
Amen.

From my sojourning in Oregon,
Greetings!

Leave a Reply

